Birstall Victoria

The Vic were the first winners of the popular Darryl Woollin Trophy with a side which incuded two players, who went on to have successful professional careers, Dick Jaziewicz (Bradford, Wakefield and Great Britain) and John Lyons (Wakefield, Leeds and Halifax).

The Vic also won the Woollin Cup on its tenth anniversary, beating Thornhill in a 16-14 thriller.

They have also been involved in some tremendous Jim Brown and John Kane Cup ties over the years.

The Vic have done particularly well for what is basically a traditional pub side and hope to achieve even more now the club has moved forward with a Junior Section under the banner of Birstall Victoria. This was down to the hard work of Paul Frain and colleagues.

Another highlight was the brilliant Vic team who were Senior Division Champions and play-off Champions of the 1999-2000 season.